Good things also follow one after the other!


Yes, good things do follow one after the other, it’s not only the bad things that do that. Have that ever happened to you? Last  night was my lucky night, as two things happened consecutively that brought me back to the present. I am sure you have your share of such astonishing moments. These were moments of ………(to read  more, click the red bar below) realization , appreciation and reconnection.

The first case was when I ordered a ‘roti canai’ , and it was delivered to me without the curry. While waiting for the curry to be brought to me, I started to munch on the ‘roti’. The sensation I got out of that was plain flour taste! It tasted fine, my mind suddenly brought me back to my trip to India. Images of the children happily and hungrily taking in the simple food floated back. The simply joy that flashed on their faces reminded me that because their lack they generate genuine joy from the little food they manage to lay their hands on.  I, who have abundant food readily available to me, who need not have to worry that I will go to bed hungry, am not always mindful of the good life I am given.

The second instance was when I went for my shower when I got home. I am, like many of you here, so used to having clean and plentiful water at our disposal. When I turned on the tap, instead of the usual gush of refreshing water I got only a tiny trickle. Since I had soaped myself all over I was left with not much of a choice but to use what little I got to wash off the suds. It dawned on me that I have been unmindful, and have wasted large quantities of water in my daily cleaning up. It reminds me to be more careful of how I use things that are put at my disposal and not to be wasteful. I should treasure these resources and treat them with due care.  I am grateful this happened, now I should make myself more aware of the good things in my life and be mindful not to abuse them, to always count my blessings.

Simple things but are wake-up calls.

Come visit this site again. Thank you.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Good things also follow one after the other!

  1. leafless says:

    “I am grateful this happened, now I should make myself more aware of the good things in my life and be mindful not to abuse them, to always count my blessings.”

    Everything we do has consequences. We need to always keep this in mind.

    Yes, the Law of Cause and effect and To be Mindful in all things.

  2. Harsh says:

    Bad things don’t happen one after the another … Infact they happen all at once 😦

    Wow, that bad, eh? It sure looks that way.

Leave a Reply

