Life, Prayers, Hope, Recovery, Happiness.


The Chinese New Year is just 3 days away. To the Chinese,  this is a day packed with thousands of years of cultural traditions. In most Chinese households around the world, preparations are being made to hold reunion dinners on the Eve of the auspicious day.

Which household does not look forward to such happy reunion dinners.  But sadly, some families will not be able to enjoy the warm, love, laughter, the gaiety and the joy that such dinners usually offer.

Below is a case (a friend of my daughter) in point, I am sure the children, the husband, the aged parents from both sides and the poor lady herself would dearly want to celebrate like all other households.  But this family is unable to do so this year.

It is my fervent prayer that this unfortunate incident will be over soon for the family and the miss on the celebration will only for this year. Since the doctors are still unable to find what causes this and still unable to cure her of the attack, I ask each one of us pray for her cure and recovery.

I know there are countless prayers groups in all the religions,  around the world. I sincerely hope those of you who are affiliated with such prayer groups or know them,  to contact them and request they adopt her in their prayers.

Each of us has our own circle of friends, please, do the same with your close friends. Ask them to include her in their prayers. Medical science may not offer much hope for her and her families now, let us support them.

Go to the husband’s blog and express your concern and support. The lady is called Vivian.  Below is my daughter’s blog-post.

Come visit again. Thank you.


Life is unpredictable

January 21, 2009

I have a close friend (a Malaysian too) who is currently in Belfast, Northern Ireland. I know her for five years since I was over to the UK. She is a lovely lady with three very young kids. She has just completed her PhD and was waiting for her graduation ceremony. The reason I use “was” instead of “is” is because, she is having a very bizarre disease which none of the doctors in Northern Ireland can diagnose after trying for more than 12 weeks. She was in the intensive care for two months, having serious seizures.

She is only 34. She had a normal fever and passed out one day without any alarm. Since then, everything has changed. Her husband has created a blog to update friends who concern about her condition  –        http://chewpslau.blogspot.com/ . I was so shocked when I received the bad news. I have been praying hard for her, hoping doctors will find out what is making her sick and that she will recover soon.

Last night, I decided to text (sms) her husband, asking him about her current condition as there was no new update (blog) since early this month. This is his reply: ’she is awake but no communication at all. She lost most of her basic abilities and skills.’ I feel so sorry for her and her family. I did not know what to say to her husband. I know he must heard a lot of ‘I am sorry to hear that’, ‘hope she’ll be fine soon’, etc. Apart from saying that, I really don’t know what I can say to him. I would like to fly back to Belfast to visit her. Her husband thought it might not be a good idea as she couldn’t recognize anyone or speak. His mum and her dad are in the UK too to help to look after the three young kids.

Life is so unpredictable. She is such a kind lady. I really hope things will turn out to be a good, positive one for her and her family.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

36 thoughts on “Life, Prayers, Hope, Recovery, Happiness.

  1. soulsunclothed says:

    I’m keeping your friend in my prayers. Hope she gets healed soon. May God bless her!

  2. azoptimist says:

    Why bad things happen to good people — I do not know.

    As a mother of two boys, I can only begin to imagine the gut wrenching turmoil your friend and her family must be going through. My prayers to all, especially the children (how frightened, confused, and lonely they must be).

  3. Bill Howdle says:

    There are such sad situations in the world, times when nothing can be said or done other than prayers. Vivian and family are in mine.

  4. May this family find love, strength and support while experiencing this challenging time.

  5. alexandsam says:

    I am praying for this family, and for the doctors who are trying to diagnose her. How sad.

  6. tmcchesney says:

    My thoughts and prayers are with her and her family!

  7. Maxi says:

    My prayers are with your friend and her family. May this heartbreaking situation soon end for them.

  8. supercynic says:

    Our prayers go out for your friend and her family.

  9. Asma Ahsan says:

    May God bring her relief and cure – and strength to bear this hard time. Best wishes.

  10. midnightgardener says:

    Thank you for telling me of this. So sad. I add my prayers to everyone’s for relief, recovery and peace.

  11. She is my heart.

    Also, I followed the link in your post and couldn’t find the blog, however I did some research and found this address as the correct one
    chewpslau.blogspot.com

  12. leafless says:

    Have faith! My prayers are with your friend and her family.

  13. ct says:

    My prayers not only for her but for all of them who are in despair, have faith. Its so heart-wrenching especially so for the husband, to be strong! Words just cannot describe the anguish and anxiety he’s going through.

  14. Aadil says:

    May she be blessed with blooming health! May she recover quickly! Amen!

  15. thedaythatidie says:

    yep. life is unpredictable. it’s funny how it turns and it’s just, unexpected and you ask yourself “who would’ve something like this could happen?”
    it’s sad, very sad. but we have no choice other than live with it.

  16. alegra22 says:

    She will be in our prayers. As a mother and wife it breaks my heart to even think about this. It is the unpredictability of our bodies that brings us to understand that beyond anything else, there is only faith.

  17. visuallens says:

    As a Malaysian Chinese,it is sad to know her suffering in a foreign country. They suppose to celebrate the Chinese new year on this coming 26 January together with their family. She and her family will be in our prayers and hope the doctors will get her recovery soon.

  18. What you say is that in spirit you are there and he is not alone. When you go, give him some time off. It is so difficult to be parent and loving husband in that situation, no? The kids are most definitely missing mom, he’s missing wife, and deep down, she is probably missing being her roles. You can be her voice and sing those nursery rhymes and she will know and appreciate. Keep praying, keep believing, and know YOU are not alone.

  19. xia0yi says:

    Is sad to hear bout it… but i believe with all the prayers, GOD will protect your friend!!

  20. Urutoraman Kuraudo says:

    hey, urutoraman here.

    i’m sorry to hear about the story. i totally understand about how hard the unfortunate family are having their chinese new year.
    i’m not chinese, but i know that chinese new year should be celebrated happily and with prosperity.
    i really hope she will be fine, with her family.
    May God save her.

    I’m afraid I can’t be much help although I’m an Urutoraman. I’ll pray for her. I’ll ask God to help her and her family. Amin.

    Happy Chinese New Year to you and your family.

  21. efrenefren says:

    If you don’t mind can you disclose the lady’s name?

  22. […] will bless you in the year to come. Let’s start the year right by praying for this lady who is having very bizarre disease which none of the doctors in Northern Ireland can diagnose. Let’s […]

  23. […] have received a prayer request from Serendiptiy Hopeful. The request if for prayers for a young lady, Vivian. Vivian is a yound lady in Northern Ireland […]

  24. roujinlim says:

    She’d be in my prayers always. May she get better soon.

  25. […] But…. there are some people out there who can’t celebrate the day with joy and happiness. Not because they don’t want to, but the conditions make them hard to spend the day with lots of smile and laughters. I stumbled upon someone’s blog who wrote about a family “tragedy” and mystery. A wife and a mother who has been “sick” with unknown cause for few months. She had several seizures and other symptoms. Doctors have tried so many tests and diagnosa — MRI, CT Scan, blood tests, etc. you name it — but still can’t figure out what’s wrong the lady. I think it’s worse if you see someone who you love and dear so much sick without knowing what causes the symptoms etc. At the same time you want to “cure” her but you can’t since you don’t know how (normally once a doctor found out what is the cause/disease, he’d know what next steps should be taken). More details about the conditions please click this. […]

  26. planetcity1 says:

    May our creator bless and hold Vivian and her family in His love and light.

  27. thememoirsofmimi says:

    I hope all is well with your family and the family in need. The world needs prayer and a spiritual cleansing during difficult times such as these.

  28. leowbh says:

    Life is just unpredictable. Be strong.

  29. ondrus says:

    I pray that she recovers soon….Till then may God bless her and her family the strength and courage.

  30. spottedmist says:

    first of all, thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog. i am also grateful for the fact that you’ve reminded me about a thing that we often forget to do: being thankful for what we already have. it’s only until we’re faced with cases/examples like these that we realize that we’ve only been taking things for granted.

    my prayers and thoughts are with the lady and her family. hang in there, people.

  31. spottedmist says:

    oh, and xin nian kuai le to you too!
    sorry for the double post but i really forgot to do that in my first comment, hehe..

  32. dina says:

    Happy Chinese New Year to you

    My prayers are with Vivian…
    Hope she get well soon, amiiin..

Leave a Reply

