Now is as good a time as any for gratefulness


Ordinarily when I think of what I do possess or own that will cause me to give thanks, to be grateful, nothing much really come to mind.

Now when I took time out to ponder on it, I find there are many things that had simply skipped my mind or just had not registered. There are, in fact,  many, many things for which I need to express gratefulness for! I have taken plenty for granted, this shouldn’t be the case. Now that I am aware of how fortunate I have been and am, I will be ever mindful of this good fortune and will give thanks daily.

My Blessings :

“Health is wealth” – I have hear this since I was in my early teens but it didn’t register or make any impression on me.  The truth of this saying was finally realized when I myself walked past the half century mark. At this stage of life it finally dawned on me that I did not have the same strength and agility I used to possess in my younger years. Seeing my contemporaries and those older than myself struck down by illnesses and sicknesses confirmed the truth of this phrase. Health is really wealth, you may be the richest person in the world but if your health is feeble you won’t be able to enjoy what your wealth can get you, this is a fact.

Family – Having a partner who is a self-sacrificing wife and mother is a great gift to any man and I am one of those lucky men.  Usually a man and wife spend more than half of their life-spans with each other. Pity is a man who has to spend half a life time stuck with a nagging, demanding and self-centered woman. Just imagine what a living hell that is. I thank my lucky start I am spare that.

– Having children can be a great source of happiness or it can be just a great a source of pain and suffering for the parents. Though I have my ups and downs with my children, they have never been a source of great pain and suffering for me. This I count as a blessing having seen what some unlucky parents had gone through.

Friends

If I have lived to this age and cannot claimed to have some good friends then I could not consider to have live a very meaningful life. Fortunately there are a few of have openly professed to be my friends, to them I want to say I consider this one of the blessings in my life. I would like to thank them for this privilege. To have their respect I am most honored and I treasure my friendship with them. Words could not adequately express my appreciation of their concerns and love.

Extended family members

In one of my earlier posts, I mentioned that if ever two persons were to meet then there must be affinity between them (here). To be able to become family members this must be even more so. I treasure the synergy generated when there is problems confronting any member of the family. The gaiety  and merriment that flow out of any happy gatherings is something to be experienced to be appreciated. I enjoy all these. Of course with more people in the family there bound to have its squabbles and frictions but in the end the benefits outweigh the disadvantages. The support, concern and closeness when these relatives close ranks are what I appreciate most.

There are many things that are so ordinary, so common that they have been taken for granted. Pondering on them convinced me that they should not be so taken.

Roof over my head

Television has shrunken the world, what is happening in one part of the world can be instantaneously seen in all the other parts of the world. We now know that there are many in many parts of the world who do not have a roof over their heads. Many others are without them, either they cannot afford them, or the environment and circumstances deprive them of the opportunities. I see them as blessings given me, I count myself extremely lucky not having deprived of a roof in all my years of existence.

Good life

Many of us fortunate ones have never experienced empty stomachs or have to go without clothes to shield us from the cold. We not only have ample food, we also have nutritious foods, and just in case we do not have a balanced diet we have vitamin supplements.  We not only have clothes, we have expensive and stylish clothes. Many children, men and women go about without shoes, we not only have shoes, we can choose what color of shoes we would wear each day, our toddlers go about in branded-shoes. I will never abuse this privilege any more, I will be mindful of my blessings.

No financial obligations/burdens

Such financial obligations and burdens have destroyed many men who have to shoulder them. The hardship caused by them have broken the spirits of even the hardiest of men. Circumstances and luck have conspired to to bring them sorrows and pain but they have conspired to bring men like me peace of mind and ease of life. I am truly blessed.

Freedom

Those of us who have always enjoy the freedom to move about, to do what we like, practice what we believe have often take these as our natural rights. Hardly am I aware these are not natural to me, that they are not part of my DNA. Many things come together to bring about the flowering of this freedom, so this should definitely be considered as one of the blessings that have been bestowed on me.

Comforts of life

I own a car which I use to travel about whereas many people in many other parts of the world and even in my own country have to move about with their own two legs. I have air-conditioners not only in my car and the hall in my house but also in my bedroom.  I not only have clean water to drink, I also have hot water facilities to make myself hot drinks.  I have computers and lap-tops, mobile phone, television set,  washing machine and clothe drying machine and other modern facilities and amenities that create a comfortable and pleasant life for me and my family . Millions of our fellow beings are out there are scavenging for their very existence every day. Am I not blessed?

Peace of mind

Many men and women have troubled minds. They find their lives directionless and empty. I am fortunate to have found my spiritual direction. My mind is peaceful and I am contented. This is really priceless. This is wealth, this is health!

What I had

Time tends to obscure many things from our past from even ourselves. Pondering on gratefulness allows many of the blessings which I have forgotten to surface:

Loving parents

I have a pair of loving parents who provided love and who made sacrifices for me and my siblings. They were the one who instill the right values in us.  These values provided the foundations that built traits and characters in me  that steered me into the path, the direction I have embarked on.  The strengths and resilience that allow me to navigate thus far come from all this.

A good habit

One of the habits I have managed to develop is the habit of reading. This I consider the best habit I have acquired and this has turned out to be my greatest blessing! The teachings, advices, wisdom, knowledge, truths, principles, observations, expertise and facts in the books have given me the solutions to meet my challenges along the way. I have learned a lot from these books and I am indebted to all the authors whose works had helped but whose names I now cannot recall.

An education

Through the hard work and sacrifices my father had made it had provided me an education which serves me well. I am what I am today it is all due to the education that was given me through the blood, sweats and tears of my father. I count this as a significant blessing to be born into his family.

Good job

I had the good fortune to secure a job that I enjoyed working in.  It provided security, challenges and personal growth for me. For the family it provided financial security where all my financial obligations could be taken care of and this gave us plenty of emotional stability and peace of mind.

Guiding Angels

Throughout my life I always have ‘guiding angels’ watching over me.  When young, at the time when my father was struggling with the burdens and responsibilities of a big family thrust upon his shoulders , there came a benefactor who provided help to my father thus ironing out the hardships we were facing then.  Many ‘angels’ appeared to help me through my growing years and in my adult life.  These ‘angels’ guided and helped me along the way with advices, insights, some throwing challenges to make me grow. Some appeared in person but some came through as authors of books. The benefits derived from these ‘angels’ are immeasurable.

Decent peers

Peers have undisputed sway over us when we are young, peer pressure is hard to shake.  I was lucky to have decent peers when I was young. They had  decent habits and good values which kept them on the straight path. It is to their credit they did not lead me astray. Many young lives have been ruined by peers who had led them astray.

I write this not to get your solicit your respect or to impress you. I do this to ‘count my blessings’ and to remind myself to give thanks each day! We tend to go through our days unmindful of our good fortune each day.

Care to share your ‘gratefulness’ stories?

Care to rate this post? Come visit again. Thank you.

Tagged , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “Now is as good a time as any for gratefulness

  1. Keith says:

    Nice thoughts. Not enough people take the time to do this kind of reflection. http://bit.ly/ILPV

  2. Robin says:

    Great post. Thank you so much for visiting and commenting on my recent post. Thanksgiving and fall are my favorite time of the year. Thinking about this holiday brings back lots of great memories from spending time with family – especially the ones that are no longer with us.

    I am so thankful for all I have been given. A lot of people can look at the hardships in their life and be bitter. I have learned to take the good that comes along with the bad. All the hard times that I have had to go through in my life have made me the person that I am today. I wish you guys had a Thanksgiving day in Malaysia too. Even though I believe we need to be thankful every day, it is nice to have a day designated to be thankful. The U.S. can thank Abraham Lincoln for our holiday. He declared it a national holiday in 1863. Wonderful decision. 🙂

  3. little.brain says:

    Thanks for your comments on my site. Tomorrow is a day set aside for giving thanks in the United States, but as you mentioned here, every day is an opportunity to be thankful.

    Happy Thanksgiving from Seattle!

  4. athanasius16 says:

    Thank you for visiting me ( http://athanasius16.wordpress.com/2008/11/27/what-i-am-thankful-for-2008/ ) I really appreciated reading your blog post on gratefulness. You are right, we would find peace in our souls and in our world if more people would sit down and think about what they are thankful for and learn to appreciate the things that make their lives full.

    I find it fascinating that two people half a world away can be grateful and appreciative of the same blessings. When you boil it down, we’re really not all that different.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you from Rob in Indianapolis!

  5. beingloud says:

    This is a very well thought out list. I thank you for publishing it as it gives other a chance to ponder what they value and are grateful for.
    Thanks also for coming by my blog beingloud.wordpress.com and leaving your lovely comment.
    I wish you many days of thanksgiving, peace and plenty!

  6. vivianlouise says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, to you!

    Your list of gratefulness is indeed inspiring. God in His infinite kindness has given us an age where we can be knowingly grateful alongside people a world away. From here in Maryland, USA, I am delighted to rejoice with you over all your many blessings in Malaysia! Really, what a delight!

    http://vivianlouise.wordpress.com/

  7. El says:

    Thanks for stopping by Being Fully Present and commenting. And, it was actually George Washington who declared a day of thanksgiving and prayer way back in the late 1700s; Lincoln just changed the day. Regardless, we shouldn’t need designated day to give thanks!

  8. Thank you for visiting my blog; your comments are all I would include in my thankfulness, as well as thanks to the Lord, God who has given me all things that I may enjoy life and His blessings.
    Grammie Pammie

  9. devildog6771 says:

    Thank you for visiting my site and for your kind comments. From Richmond, Virginia, Happy Thanksgiving to You. Your post is great. I so enjoyed reading what you wrote. You have a great blog!

  10. earnestheart says:

    Happy Thanksgiving!! I’m glad we share similar gratitudes, it is a mindset that connects people around the world. I wish you abundance and happiness. =)

    Earnest Heart
    http://earnestheart.wordpress.com/2008/11/27/happy-thanksgiving/

  11. thememoirsofmimi says:

    Lovely post! I too am grateful to be able to read and have developed such a passion for it! I want to be an author or journalist and was just accepted into an excellent University in the States to help pursue my dream! One more thing to be thankful for on my list!
    http://thememoirsofmimi.wordpress.com/2008/11/27/thankful/

    I would like to congratulate you on being accepted into a university you are proud of. Wish you the very best and may you attain your ambition.

  12. What a wonderful list! Thank you for sharing. Belated thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment–sorry it’s taken so long to reply! I find that gratitude can cure almost any ill. Life itself is a wondrous gift!

    God be with you,
    Heather

  13. Gratitude posts are my favorite kind and yours is most wonderful here. I’ve posted them regularly on my two ‘Blogger-based’ sites (links to both are in my sidebar at my fledgling WordPress site and you’ll find sidebar links to ‘gratitude’ and ‘Really Good Things’ on each). Thanks for returning to Happily Retired Gal to leave your URL so I could visit this morning. I’ll return when I have more time to look around, and I hope you’ll visit again.
    Hugs and blessings,

  14. theunhappycamper says:

    Thanks for sharing all of this. 🙂

  15. Abigail says:

    You certainly have looked quite a bit at the idea of being thankful. I hope you always maintain that gratitude and remember Who it is that gives you all those wonderful things to be thankful for!

  16. amyecotarian says:

    Yes, I am competing with you. It’s a good contest to have! I too am especially glad I don’t have to share life with a nagging woman. 😉 Being grateful is helpful -and it’s especially important to go through the actions of being grateful when the feelings aren’t there. Writing is good for this. -Chances are, the feelings will follow.

Leave a Reply

